DVD Format Standards

Currently, there are six global regions that identify where specific DVDs are compatible with the players typically sold in that region. The majority of all current titles play only in one specific region unless otherwise noted. However, some DVD machines can play multi-region DVDs. Please check your DVD player manual or contact the manufacturer.

The following are the six regions and their corresponding numerical equivalent:

  1. U.S.A. and Canada.
  2. Japan, Europe (including the U.K.), South Africa and the Middle East including Egypt.
  3. Southeast Asia, East Asia including Hong Kong.
  4. Australia, New Zealand, Pacific Islands, Central America, South America and the Caribbean.
  5. Former Soviet Union, Indian sub-continent, Africa, North Korea and Mongolia.
  6. China.

All the DVDs featured on are Region 2.